udis front

A few months ago I bought “UDIS Soft and Delicious Muffin Mix All Purpose” to review on my blog. I have to be honest it has sat on the larder shelf since then as I seldom use packet mixes for my cakes.  Yesterday I fancied something for afternoon tea and decided to try the mix.  As an “All Purpose” mix it offers the choice of making Muffins or Scones and with the clotted cream and strawberry jam ready I started making the scone recipe.

TheFullSizeRender (3) instructions for both recipes are on the back of the packet and for both recipes you need to add other ingredients – eggs, butter and flavours.  The size of the font of the recipes is very small and I found it very hard to read.  Also the measurements are American in cups and sticks (I researched a stick of butter and it is approx 110g)

Making the scones I added some juicy sultanas and then I rolled the mix out to about 4 cm thick and then cut them with a small scone cutter. It made 13 scones. Baked at 190C for about 15 minutes and they came out golden brown.

Left to cool on a cooling rack and then served warm with clotted cream and strawberry jam.  They looked more appetising than the picture on the front of the packet!

FullSizeRender (4) I have to say these were delicious, slightly lighter than a non gluten free scone and I felt needed a little sugar added to the mix – maybe 50g of caster sugar should be added to the dry ingredients.   My wife said “these are the best gluten free scones I have tasted in a long time”

Fully recommended and I would buy this again.

FullSizeRender (5)

 

 

 

FullSizeRender (7)

 

